giftstyle.blogg.se

Crumble muffins
Crumble muffins












The buttery crumb topping turns crunchy in the oven, for a perfect textural contrast to the soft cake. Sweet but not too sweet, with a delicate crumb that’s sturdy enough to hold up the topping, but tender enough to practically melt in your mouth.

#CRUMBLE MUFFINS PLUS#

I don’t think there’s any question in my mind these are muffins.Ī good muffin is all about balance and contrast, and these muffins really have it all, plus a hint of cinnamon (just a hint though, we’re not making spice cake here). No frosting, no dusting of powdered sugar, no mound of fluffy buttercream.

crumble muffins

Also see: lack of chocolate chips (not that I have anything against chocolate chips for breakfast, but it makes the definition in this case a lot easier). Well, the fruit here, for one thing, makes them most definitely muffins. Why are those cupcakes and these are muffins? A bit more flour and a little less butter seemed to solve that problem, easily enough, and this recipe is the result! I originally tweaked my buttermilk crumb cupcake recipe to incorporate the ripe bananas, and while it was a good starting point, I found the batter a bit too delicate to support the weight of the crumb (leading to delicious, but embarrassingly sunken muffins). No, my muffins would be stellar, studded with chopped pecans (you should be proud of me for using nuts here rather than my default chocolate chips… because breakfast.) and finished with a crunchy streusel topping.īecause, let’s be honest… a muffin without a crumb topping isn’t even worth making. But rather than torture you with yet another banana bread recipe (I’ve got quite a few of them, actually, including my all time favorite double chocolate banana bread) I decided to do a banana muffin instead.īut I wasn’t satisfied with a muffin-ified version of my banana bread. Ripe bananas are a constant battle around here, so I’m always throwing together a batch of banana bread so as not to let them go to waste. In other words, the perfect way to start your day. If you’re looking for a new way to use up those over-ripe bananas taunting you on the counter, look no further than these banana pecan muffins! They’re tender and sweet and satisfyingly crunchy, like a cross between banana bread and coffee cake. Tender, fluffy banana muffins studded with chopped pecans and topped with a crunchy crumbly streusel (since we’re all in agreement that the tops are the best part anyway, why not make them even better with a crumb topping!)












Crumble muffins